Listen to the new Franz Ferdinand album a week early


Franz Ferdinand’s fourth studio album, Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action, is streaming over at NPR this week (a week before it’s set to hit stores) and it sounds like the group is back to their indie dance-rock ways.

After rumors of a break up a couple years back, the Scottish four piece return with, what I believe to be, their best album since the debut self-titled record in 2004.This new album kicks your ass right off the bat, you get a funky infectious riff that the group has built a career around, and for good reason too.

Right Action isn’t anything new musically from FF, but it is a step in the right direction, especially compared to their last two albums. In typical Franz Ferdinand fashion, the happier songs do have bits of a darker side which is a nice contrast to have in these indie dance-rock songs.  The group will always be known for their debut hit song, “Take Me Out,” but I’m glad they’re back and making great music again, its been too long.

Pick up a copy of Franz Ferdinand’s Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action due out August 27th via Domino Records.  Until then, stream the album on NPR and watch the video for “Love Illumination” below:

Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Actions Tracklist:

1. Right Action
2. Evil Eye
3. Love Illumination
4. Stand On The Horizon
5. Fresh Strawberries
6. Bullet
7. Treason! Animals
8. The Universe Expanded
9. Brief Encounters
10. Goodbye Lovers & Friends

The following two tabs change content below.


Nosebleeds Music Editor, Born in Waltham, MA living life in Los Angeles,CA, vinyl records, craft beer, and The Simpsons Follow @Sully1289