Third base umpire prevents Tigers from tagging out Will Middlebrooks

2013-10-17 23_41_08

Will Middlebrooks was able to go from first to third on a sacrifice bunt in the ninth inning of Thursday’s Game 5 in Detroit, and he got some help from third base umpire Rob Drake in the process. For some reason, Drake set up shop directly behind catcher Brayan Pena, who was covering the base and tried to apply the tag to the sliding Middlebrooks. Instead, Pena ended up accidentally tagging Drake as he swept the glove behind the bag, allowing Middlebrooks to safely take third.

Fortunately for the Tigers (and Drake), the Red Sox were not able to capitalize on the lucky break. The Sox still won the game 4-3.

The following two tabs change content below.
Pete Blackburn
Founder & lead editor of The Nosebleeds. Journalism graduate of Endicott College, Class of 2013. Boston born & raised. Lover of sports, binge television watching, music that doesn't suck & everything '90s. Not a tall drink of water. Follow @PeteBlackburn