Here is the breakdown:
Tampa Bay Lightning defenseman Radko Gudas released a howitzer that went into the net and bounced right back out. Referee Mike Leggo signaled that it wasn’t a goal but during the next stoppage of play they were summoned to review the questionable call.
The replay obviously showed that it was in fact a goal, but after a few minutes the call was made that it would not count.
Here is the NHL’s attempt at explaining the ruling:
At 17:14 of the second period in the Lightning/Canadiens game, the Situation Room observed the puck cross the goal line but play continued until 17:50 when a review was initiated. The referee informed the Situation Room that he observed incidental contact in the crease by Lightning forward Tyler Johnson on goaltender Carey Price, if in fact the puck crossed the goal line.
Video review confirmed that the puck crossed the goal line.
According to Rule 78.5 “Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the Referee when an attacking player has interfered with a goalkeeper in his goal crease.”
This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee’s decision on the ice stands, no goal Tampa Bay. The clock was reset to 17:14.
Seems simple enough, but then you look at the replay again and realize that Tyler Johnson was being shoved into Price by Douglas Murray. That part should have triggered this little clause in the rulebook:
If an attacking player has been pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending player so as to cause him to come into contact with the goalkeeper, such contact will not be deemed contact initiated by the attacking player for purposes of this rule, provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact.
So in the end the referee got the call wrong, the War Room reviewed it and got the call right but because the referee made another call, one that happened to be wrong again, the goal was disallowed. Seems legit.